100% vegan Vitamin D3 for your health
Vitamin D3 Vegan is a unique Vitamin D3 product specifically developed for vegans, strict vegetarians, or for those who prefer a 100% plant-based form of vitamin D3.
Sourced from organic lichen, this plant-based natural form of vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) provides 1.000 I.U. of vitamin D3 for healthy bones, mood, and immune system function.
Vitamin D3 Vegan contains Vitashine®, the only Vegan Vitamin D3, registered with the Vegan Society and the Vegetarian Society. The research data of Vitashine® has been validated by independent expert Laboratories (including world renowned Stirling University).
Benefits of Vitamin D Vegan 1.000 IE:
- 100% plant derived Vitamin D3
- suitable for Vegans and Vegetarians
- made from lichen, a naturally vegan source of D3
- each capsule provides 1.000 IE of vitamin D3
- very high bioavailability
- easy to swallow plant based capsules
- very good price/performance ratio
Vitamin D3 Vegan: The potent and active form of Vitamin D3
Vitamin D3 (Cholecalciferol) is the form of Vitamin D produced by the body after sun exposure. Common vegan Vitamin D supplements are Vitamin D2 (Ergocalciferol), which is a derivative of ergosterol and is not produced by land plants or vertebrates.
The healthy debate continues regarding whether D2 offers equivalent efficacy to D3 in the body, with the majority of the Scientific community suggesting Vitamin D3 is superior. Vitamin D3 seems to be the more natural and bioavailable form of Vitamin D for the body.
Vitamin D3 and the wonderful world of Lichens
The unique vegan Vitamin D3 comes from a special, organic plant source called Lichen. Lichens are small plant species consisting of a symbiotic association of a fungus with an algae.
This gives them unique attributes such as surviving in extreme climates and having the ability to grow and accumulate meaningful levels of useful nutrients, including Vitamin D3.
Lichen are like moss or small plants and can be found all over the world including the Arctic, Deserts, the ground in forests and all around us growing on trees, benches, rocks etc.
There are many different species of Lichen. For the production of Vegan Vitamin D3 a carefully selected strain of Lichen is used which is capable to produce Vitamin D3.
How is Vitamin D3 Vegan produced from Lichen?
The vegan Vitamin D3 is sourced from an edible form of lichen that is wild harvested at locations in North America, Asia and Scandinavia. This lichen that has been used in foods for centuries (and continues to be used today).
The lichen is collected and washed at source, and then put through a multi-step process of purification, extraction and concentration. Only water and alcohol is used to extract the Vitamin D3, whereas the alcohol is removed in a final production step.
Ensuring optimum purity and safety
Special care is applied during the whole extraction process to retain optimum stability of the Vitamin D3. In a special developed system the Vitamin D3 is extracted in a totally light, heat and moisture controlled environment.
This is done at the site where the sustainably grown lichen is obtained, to ensure optimum freshness. The lichen used is classified as a food ingredient with a long history of safety. Every batch is carefully tested to measure the exact level of Vitamin D3.
Do other Vegan Vitamin D3 products exist?
Many Vitamin D3 products on the market claim to be Vegan suitable. By looking at them closely, a number of products promoted as Vegan Vitamin D3 actually contain only vitamin D2 or conventional Vitamin D3 from sheep's wool (lanolin).
There may well be other vegan suitable sources of Vitamin D3 out there, but we we think, that Vitamin D3 Vegan von Vitality Nutritionals is superior. With this product you get a purely vegan Vitamin D3, starting from the Vitamin D3 raw material used all the way to the vegetable capsule shell.
A huge part of the population are deficient in essential vitamin D
The unfortunate fact is that Vitamin D deficiency affects so many of us. Because the modern lifestyle often mean that we just don't get the level of Vitamin D from the sun that our bodies are designed to obtain.
Dietary sources are minimal and a frightening proportion of society is Vitamin D deficient. Figures vary in the media but are ever-increasing.
The health benefits of Vitamin D are both preventative and reparative
Individuals with a suitable level of Vitamin D in their diet and those who supplement are typically much better equipped to fight off colds and ailments. There are links to preventing many types of diseases by consuming adequate Vitamin D.
It also has reparative properties and often high levels of Vitamin D3 are given to patients during treatment to recover from different illnesses and diseases associated with Vitamin D deficiency, including bone, muscular, growth, blood conditions.
Vegetarians, Vegans and dark skinned people are at high risk of deficiency
Oily fish is the most common dietary source of Vitamin D. This is of course missing from the diets of Vegans and many Vegetarians, hence why supplements are strongly recommended for them.
Some studies have found that vegans have lower vitamin D intakes than do lacto-ovo vegetarians or meat-eaters. This may be because cow's milk (also a source of vitamin D) is a more common part of the daily menu for non-vegans than vitamin D fortified foods are for vegans.
Also, people with darker skin are at higher risk of Vitamin D deficiency, as these skin types are naturally better at blocking out UV rays and therefore reducing the body's natural ability to produce Vitamin D.
The many health benefits of Vitamin D
Vitamin D is linked to benefitting many ailments, illnesses and diseases including some serious conditions. Those reported to benefit from Vitamin D include: